PDA

View Full Version : Wedding scam?


george.monaghan
5th February 2007, 01:06 PM
Hi,

Any of you had such an offer as I presume person would be targetting any online photographers.

Had it been been closer to home ( ie Glasgow area) I would probably have responded as the telelphone number (mobile) is UK based.

The problem is it looks too much like the other Nigerian scams on the internet.:

Hello

How is Business? My name is Dusty Richard. I reside in UK. The reason am contacting you is that my daughter will be getting married soon in the United Kingdom on the 24th of March 2007 and I will like you to take care of the Photography stuff of the event. I came across your advert on the Internet and am impressed with your services. All expenses would be taken care of,perhaps you can give me the total/Quotes charges, plus the transportation cost for you down to VENUE @ 63 Kenilworth Road- St.Leonards on sea - East Sussex TN38 0RW Please I want the best services from you, because this is my only daughter so I want the best for her. So your best effort is needed at this occasion.Pls Let me know the charges for your service if you are to work for at most 2 Hours on that day,10 am to 12 noon. So kindly get back to me with the total cost including transportation charges to and from the venue.Also,we will have the Photgraphy/Videoat the wedding forwarded to the Publisher of a Magazine Company in United Kingdom so they could feature it in their celebrity journal. At this moment,. I look forward to your response.you can mail me back to these mail dusty_ric02@yahoo.com
Care to hear from you
Thanks
Dusty

My Details
Dusty Richard
63 Kenilworth Road- St.
Leonards on sea

Your thoughts on the matter?

paul t
5th February 2007, 02:12 PM
Sounds like a scam to me George, the road does exist, but it only took me 2 mins. to find it on the map. You pays your money, good luck mate.

Jurujoh
5th February 2007, 02:42 PM
The 'Dusty Richard' seems funny to me: "Dirty DICK"

Stemmy
5th February 2007, 02:44 PM
SCAM written all over it for me.

richingram
5th February 2007, 03:15 PM
I have received this email three times and deleted it three times. Was especially suspicious about the 'Also,we will have the Photgraphy/Videoat the wedding forwarded to the Publisher of a Magazine Company in United Kingdom so they could feature it in their celebrity journal' section

tonymidd
5th February 2007, 03:38 PM
Deffo a scam, it's been around for some time in various forms.

george.monaghan
5th February 2007, 03:39 PM
Hi,

I presume what would happen next, if I responded, was to ask for my bank details, pay me a cheque with too much cash on it and then ask me for a refund. That or something similar.

Not sure what else they can get out of it - any ideas on how it would work?

It's good to know these things if you have the knowledge on how they operate.

Earl53
5th February 2007, 04:37 PM
That's exactly right! Your bank info would have been next so they can pay you right off.

I got an email just like this saying they were coming here to the states for the wedding and wanted me to give them a quote. I gave them an outrageous sum of money and they didn't bat an eye. They wanted me for the weekend in Ohio and I live in New Hampshire several states away. Like they couldn't find a photographer closer.

Annie_W
6th February 2007, 12:17 PM
Yes, I agree with you all. And it HAS been around years,as has been mentiond. i remember reading on a post some time ago, to ask for the money well up front in American Dollars. If they are genuine, they will turn up recorded post. If not, you will never hear from them again.
annie

=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=

There's a pleasure sure in being mad that none but madmen know. (anon)

BarryM
7th February 2007, 11:33 AM
yes a few of these on the go, if its too good to be true, it usually is.

Mal
7th February 2007, 10:41 PM
Hi George I average one of these a week now, and I had the same one as you this week too. Don't bother responding as they will keep pestering just delete it mate

photo3
10th February 2007, 03:04 PM
The constant references to the UK are a giveaway along with "best price" and overall general language. How many people say "I'm getting married in the UK"?

Most that I receive are along the lines of:

"Are you available to cover our wedding at the Little Hermitage in Higham on Saturday 17th October?
we would be interested in a bespoke package that would include staying for part of the evening

Look forward to hearing from you "

so the scam ones become quite obvious after a while.

photo3
10th February 2007, 09:21 PM
I've posted before about the 419eater site but they are now on YouTube.

Couple of great video clips of scammers trying to imitate the Monty Python dead parrot sketch in order to get a video scolarship. Also some clips of one scammer that had paid out $50000 in shipping fees for what he thought were laptops but were actually broken washing machines and other junk.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LvyrzQldOKE
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jzz1tNppsIM&mode=related&search=