PDA

View Full Version : Does any one know about this Stock company?


Bindii
21st February 2006, 01:49 PM
This might be the wrong place to post this thread but has anyone had any dealings with this stock photography company?

http://ozimages.com.au/index.asp

I'm not up on stock photography and please correct me if I am wrong but isn't it normal for them to pay the photographer - not the other way around. And while I have only had a very quick look I felt that some of the shots I looked at were not up to the standard that I would expect from a stock library.

lostmysnorkel
21st February 2006, 11:15 PM
Hi Bindii, I have looked at Ozimages as well and thought they were very expensive. You are right to think that you shouldn't have to pay up-front as well, if the library think they can sell your pictures they will take their cut that way, and you will know that they will be trying to sell your images.

Have a look at www.photographersdirect.com I have made a few sales through them and their rates are very reasonable. The basic package for photographers is free, with commision paid on any sale you make.

Whilst stock photography is a tiny part of my income I am sure you can find better libraries around, but I beliee 40-50% commison isn't unusual.

Have a look in the Photographer's Market Directory - they usually list stok libraries and their specialities.

Bindii
5th January 2007, 05:48 PM
I don't know anything about this company ? But it is not un heard of the agency charging the photographer to have there pics displayed on there library ? per anum . Some agencies dont charge others do , but all take a commission on sales !

The problam is there are thousands of agencies offering royalty free images as low as £1 , some photographers will give there work away for almost free , just to get it published ??

watchya .........


Whats the matter Simon...you barely manage 160 posts in your own photography forum in nearly a year...

but...

93 posts in three days not enough here for ya mate?

Gotta go digging those year old posts up huh? :rolleyes:

Bindii
5th January 2007, 06:03 PM
Whats a matter ?? enlighten ! why should anything be a matter ??

MMM theres always one ha , right from the start with there PM ??

As for my organisation , if it interests you that much , just ask and i will gladly let you take a look ??

Perfect Images UK


Actually your job doesn't interest nor concern me....

obviously your self esteem is very low....and while thats fully justified...I certainly aint about to get into a slanging match with ya...

oh a peice of friendly advice...

the grammar police are out to get ya though..:grin:

lostmysnorkel
5th January 2007, 06:07 PM
I looked into Ozimages a while ago, but decided they were too expensive for me!

Wasn't particularly impressed them, having asked for some information, I was getting emails from them for about six months afterwards trying to get me to sign up.

kris
25th January 2007, 11:03 PM
Basically Ozimages are a storage place not a real stock agency.
No self respecting agency will ask you to pay up front to store your photos on their server. They are their to sell images so they don't need to charge storage.
If your photo's are any good you will have them accepted and they will be happy to put them on their site and then charge commision on sales.
Photographers Direct have a list of images customers are looking for. They charge if you want to have direct access to photo buyers, otherwise you add your photo to a lightbox along with everyone else and hope for the best. They do have exceedingly good commision rates though.

Alamy are a lot higher in the commision stakes but you are more likely to make sales with them. You have to have large files (50mb) but these can be interpolated, but so far no ftp upload facility. They are working on this at the moment.

Then there are agencies like Featurepics. You upload images and set your own price. This site is relatively new and there are a lot of $5.00 images. BUT you don't pay them. If they sell an image they take a commision.

NEVER PAY an agency to try sell your photos, an agency that charges has no incentive to market your images. They are being paid wether they sell them or not.
I would rather earn money from an agency than give it to them

BarryM
7th February 2007, 11:58 AM
ive never been a fan of these image places.

Annie_W
8th February 2007, 04:56 PM
Ozimages looks like the snappers version of vanity publishing. now,photographers direct. That's something else. The images are superb.
Annie

Bindii
10th February 2007, 11:31 PM
Ozimages looks like the snappers version of vanity publishing. now,photographers direct. That's something else. The images are superb.
Annie

Yes I am with photographers direct...and have been lucky enough to sell some images through them also..:)