+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 17 1 2 3 11 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 8 of 134

Thread: Warning - Weddings Scams

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Location
    Rainham, Kent
    Photography
    Advanced
    Photoshop
    Intermediate
    Can we edit your images ?
    No
    Posts
    349
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

    Warning - Weddings Scams

    Hi there

    Just joined forum and thought this may be of interest. Not sure if anyone else has received messages like below but just to warn you if you do. The one below was more of a giveaway due to the poor English, misspelt email address! and references to "in the state" along with a fake address. Others have referred to weddings in Belgium etc.
    Apparently the scam is to send you more than the money for the booking and then get you to refund difference. By then the original cheque has bounced - I understand that even after 4 days clearance can still be revoked.

    Andy

    Larry Rhodes <larryrohdes2004@hotmail.com>

    Greetings,
    I'm Mr Larry Rhodes,my son Jimmy Birthday will be coming up next two
    months on the 8th of April 2006 at the address below and he will be 20 years
    old,i will like you to be the (Photographer) for the birthday party,i want
    it to be very big,social and colourfull birthday party,i want the best of
    professional job from you and your service will need for 5 hours.

    Let me know if you will be available for the day,also i will like you to
    send me your total cost plus transport fees with your hotel booking while
    you will be there and my associate in the state will take care of the
    payment and the mode of the payment will e be through Cheque I look forward
    in hearing from you soon

    Here is the address so as to calculate the total costing

    20,Homerton Avenue,
    Beresford Road,
    London,SE1 7EE.

    I look forward in read from you soon.
    Rgds,
    Mr Larry Rhodes

  2. #2
    StagePhotography.co.uk Guest
    Larry Rhodes / Jimmy Birthday

    See the surnames don't even match..... *wink*

    He also tries it with Magicians...

    http://austinmagic.org/news.htm

    I started a thread about this kind of thing
    on an other website... A Am Dram one...

    Regarding Nigerian email scams...

    http://www.amdram.co.uk/forums/index...92&hl=nigerian
    Last edited by StagePhotography.co.uk; 4th February 2006 at 10:56 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Photography
    Advanced
    Photoshop
    Intermediate
    Can we edit your images ?
    Yes
    Posts
    11,720
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    Yep, had these from all over the world, and the bank of nigeria straight in the bin.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Lawrence, KS
    Posts
    35
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I get these almost everyday. The horrible spelling and surreal grammer usually expose the scammers. If it's an obvious scam I just delete. If I have any doubts I just mention that I'm not doing the work until I have USA cash dollars in my hands.

    Recently I've been getting photography related inquiries from ex NFL and NBA players starting up businesses. I've never received replies to my replies, so I'm assuming these are probably scams too. Ask some standard professional questions, and I think the con artists write me off as too much trouble. They are looking for straight-up, easy suckers.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    the nigerian scams, otherwise as the 419 scam (after the law in nigeria its related to)

    interesting site http://www.419eater.com/ in which people have turned the tables on the scammers themselves.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    263
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
    I'm Mr Larry Rhodes,my son Jimmy Birthday will be coming up next two
    months on the 8th of April 2006 at the address below and he will be 20 years
    old,i will like you to be the (Photographer) for the birthday party,i want
    it to be very big,social and colourfull birthday party,i want the best of
    professional job from you and your service will need for 5 hours.

    Let me know if you will be available for the day,also i will like you to
    send me your total cost plus transport fees with your hotel booking while
    you will be there and my associate in the state will take care of the
    payment and the mode of the payment will e be through Cheque I look forward
    in hearing from you soon

    Here is the address so as to calculate the total costing

    20,Homerton Avenue,
    Beresford Road,
    London,SE1 7EE.

    I look forward in read from you soon.
    Rgds,
    Mr Larry Rhodes
    Not sure quite what this guy hopes to gain from this??

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Wiltshire
    Photography
    Advanced
    Photoshop
    Intermediate
    Can we edit your images ?
    Yes
    Posts
    11,720
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
    they send a cheque for a small amount say £50 over the top, hoping you will send overpayment back, then surprise surprise, the cheque bounces.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Norton Canes, Staffordshire
    Photography
    Advanced
    Photoshop
    Advanced
    Can we edit your images ?
    No
    Posts
    8,118
    Thanks
    0
    Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
    You'll also get similar emails if you advertise on ebay. One thing never ever reply to one of these, you show that your email is active and you'll be unindated with spam, and never open any attachments.
    Tony
    Forza Ferrari!!!
    Do as you will but harm no one.
    The more you learn....the more you learn there is more to learn.
    Technique is always subservient to image content

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts